Out of the Dark, Into the Light

I’m so lucky to wake up most mornings with a positive outlook on my day. I love what I do for a living. I have passion for life. I’m blessed to have found my soul mate that I will soon be marrying! I have an amazing, supportive family, and a few close friends that inspire me.

But… it hasn’t always been that way. I have lived in the shadow of my own dark thoughts. I have battled through depression when I couldn’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. Even in the darkest hours, there must have been a glimmer of hope. Enough to make me hold onto the faith that life is good. Here on the other side of that darkness, a lesson that stands out is “Faith”.

This word I learned in church and Bible study over 30 years ago took a life lesson to transform from an idea to a reality for me.

To me, “faith” means “knowing”, not just believing. It is knowing something wholeheartedly, that it isn’t a question of “if”, only a question of “when”. My faith is getting stronger every day. The more faith I have, the more I see its positive results, which reinforces that faith works. It’s a snowball effect. What does faith mean to you?

How could I not love what I do? look at this beautiful wedding!

017 018 019 020 021 022 023 005 006 007 008 009 010 011 012 013 014 015

My breakfasts lately have been looking a lot like this:

001

Raspberries, blueberries, pineapple, chia seeds, Greek yogurt and granola. Unless I work early, then I grab a granola bar and banana and eat it in the car.

Lunches are either salads, or leftovers, or a wrap of some sort:

004 002 006

I have also been trying to put snacks back into habit. my body does best when I eat something every 3-4 hours. A handful of nuts, fruit and cottage cheese, carrots with ranch, 100-200 calories does the trick:

003

Weekend dinner’s are still mostly eaten out. This past weekend I tried Korean food for my first time. we ordered veggie dumplings to start, and the came out with a variety of sides from kimchi, to pickled veggies and a bunch of other things i didn’t know what they were.

024 025

I ordered the bibimbop which was a bowl of rice with veggies, ground beef and an egg on top. Honey got the bbq chicken:

027 028

Meh, just okay, wasn’t that impressed.

Exercise has been confined mostly to the gym. I have been lifting,running on the treadmill, and riding the stationary bike. I haven’t been there as much as I would like, but now with about a month before the wedding, I plan to kick it in high gear. I don’t want to lose any weight, just firm up, especially the arms.  I know this month is going to fly by! I have a lot of details and appointments to take care of.  The good news is that this month, I should start transforming into a bride 🙂 I have been sporting some serious dark roots because I wanted to wait until I got closer to get highlights. I have been growing out the brows to get a nice wax. I have been growing out my nails without polish to get them ready for the big day. In other words, I’m looking a little shabby;) But not for long 🙂

Excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 thoughts on “Out of the Dark, Into the Light

  1. You inspire me! I read some of your words and I feel, I may have writen a few of them myself. Thank you for sharing so much with us! I am so happy and excited for you and your Journey! I know mine has been a CrAzY Journey…. and would not change it for the world! Oh… BTW… I’m Mrs. Edwards now!! The wedding was beautiful and so full of Love. Thank you for inspiration and knowledge ❤

  2. I struggle with allowing my mind to wander too far into the “dark”….it’s a constant battle to try to have faith and be positive. Thanks for sharing and this was a beautiful wedding! I love the idea of coloring a square in that picture!

  3. Emilee, what a great post about faith!
    I would also like to add the concept of “Gratitude” to the list of life lessons.
    Every night, before I fall asleep, I mentally list each thing that I am grateful for from that day. I have been doing this for several years, and, in the beginning, my gratitude list was very short. I had to think of things to mentally list, so I started with ” I have a roof over my head and food in my tummy”. Very quickly, I was able to see the many things each day for which I have gratitude.
    I have “Faith” that in my life, I will have the strength to not only handle what comes my way, but that good things are abundant in my life. Little things that most people take for granted are sources of gratitude for me.
    By the way, I usually fall asleep before my mental gratitude list is finished! And for that I am also grateful!

Leave a Reply

