Surprise Shower

It has been a truly wonderful week. Let’s go back to Thursday. I went to work in the morning like any other day. I got a little more dressed up than usual for an “office ladies luncheon”. We shut the office down and had a party bus pick all the office  gals up for what turned out to be a surprise bridal shower for me!!!!!!!!! I seriously work with THE best group of women! They are sweet, talented, and amazing! My friend and co-worker (and budding photographer), Lori took the following photos:

DSC_1152 DSC_1158 DSC_1193 DSC_1194 DSC_1187 DSC_1189 DSC_1185 DSC_1182 DSC_1181 DSC_1186 DSC_1184 DSC_1180 DSC_1179 DSC_1178 DSC_1174 DSC_1172 DSC_1171 DSC_1169 DSC_1163

The shower was held at Piquant, a cute little French restaurant in the Hyde Park area of Tampa. We had a set menu of some incredible food.  To sip, there were non alcoholic peach bellinis or mango coladas, I ordered a berry infused unsweet tea.

To eat, we started with a melt in your mouth quiche and salad:

DSC_1153

Followed by a mini chicken salad on croissant with fresh fruit:

DSC_1157

Then came a yummy flatbread with pepperoni:

DSC_1160

Finally, dessert was a blueberry lemon mini cupcake and a mini lemon meringue tart.

DSC_1188

What a wonderful surprise these ladies gave me!!!!

Friday I had busy day at work, but got home early enough to get inspired to make one of our favorites. These lettuce wraps were one of the first dinners I made for Matt and he was crazy about them (perhaps the reason he fell for me 😉

photo(6)

Served with steamed broccoli and red peppers.

Saturday we had to weddings at Cross Creek Ranch. One at the stable:

017 016 015 014 013 012 011 010

And one at the newly renovated French Country Inn:

001 002 003 004 005 006 007 009

It’s hard to believe only one more wedding to go until the end of the season. We don’t have weddings in the summer, it’s just too hot.

After the set up, I was surprisingly motivated to work out. I lifted some weights and did 23 minutes on the treadmill. I took turns running for 3 minutes, then walking fast on a steep incline for 3 minutes.  I felt great afterwards, and decided on a healthy meal in rather than going out to eat, or picking up take out. (Good choice). I made a tofu mexi tater salad. Which was just a mixture of sautéed peppers, onion, tomatoes, black beans, and tofu, seasoned with salt, pepper, chili powder, cumin, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, fresh lime juice, and low-fat sour cream, dumped over half of a baked potato, topped with lettuce, tomato, avocado and hot sauce:

018

Today (Sunday), I had the day off, and it was one of those perfect days. I slept in until 9:00, enjoyed a cup of coffee and yogurt with berries and granola:

019

I did 3 loads of  laundry and cleaned up the kitchen. I went to the gym for more weights and 30 minutes on the treadmill. Then I had a light lunch, a weird combo that grossed out honey. It was a hard-boiled egg, sliced on a sprouted grain tortilla with spinach and salsa:

020

Then I showered and we headed out to some jewelry stores to look at wedding bands, we are getting down to the wire on this one. Other than that big one, we just have little things to take care of, It’s all coming together, VERY FAST!

After shopping, we went to Cooper’s Hawk Winery for a wine tasting and dinner. As part of their wine club, I get 2 free tastings and 2 bottles of wine each month.

025 024

For dinner, we stuck to their “Life Balance” menu. We split the ahi tuna tacos and they were fantastic!!!

027

They brought out preztel bread, and I had a nibble.

026

For dinner, I had the gairdineira burger and honey had the turkey burger, we split each one:

028

I’m trying so hard to be super healthy this last month leading up to the wedding. It will be here before I know it. I’m so excited, on one hand, I can’t wait, on the other, I want time to slow down a little because the anticipation is fun and I know it will go by all to fast.

2 thoughts on “Surprise Shower

Leave a Reply

