Weekend Love

First of all, let me thank you all for the outpouring of love and support I have received in light of recent events.  It means so much to me at a difficult time.  As you all know, I was let go early from Cross Creek Ranch, so all of the sudden, I find myself with a lot of time on my hands. This is a very good thing! The past weekend spent with my hubby was a time of relaxation, reflection, planning, and fun!

Saturday was the perfect rainy day to stay in our pjs all day on the couch napping from time to time. I did get motivated at one point and went to the gym. But for the most part, we just snuggled all day.

Saturday night we went out to celebrate the beginning of our new chapter at one of our favorite places, Cooper’s Hawk Winery. We are members of their wine club, which means we get 2 bottles of wine per month, 2 “free” wine tastings, $15 gift certificates for each of our birthdays, and for every dollar we spend, we get points to earn more gift certificates, 10% off take out orders, and discounts on wine. A mighty good deal, and the wine is good.

We like to get there early to avoid the Saturday night crowds, so we went around 6:00 for our wine tasting. You get to sample 8 different types of wines (with very generous pours). After our tastings, we gathered our 2 bottles (Moscato and Nightjar which is similar to a port) and sat down for dinner.

To start they bring out soft, warm pretzel bread.image(19)We both got the chopped BLT salad:

image(20)And I had the chimichurri skirt steak:

image(21)Everything was delicious. We laughed a lot and had a blast.

Sunday the weather was absolutely perfect! We decided to spend some time outside and went to the Downtown Tampa farmer’s market. It was a small market but had some great things. We ended up getting a loaf of fresh baked garlic bread, a cored pineapple, and a fresh squeezed juice:

image(22)

image(23)

We decided to stay downtown for lunch and picked Paninoteca Cafe. This was an excellent choice! The tzaziki made my eyes roll back in my head, and I’m still thinking about it.  It was the best I have ever had, served with warm pita bread:

image(24)

It was so good, I forgot to take a picture of the chicken fontina panini we split. And I couldn’t stop talking about it the whole meal.  We had a long leisurely lunch and sat their and enjoyed a deliciously fall tasting sangria loaded with cinnamon (in a good way), talked and enjoyed the perfect weather.

Then before we got home, I started signing a song in the car I haven’t heard in years, Turn, Turn, Turn by the Bryds, and 30 seconds later it came on the radio. I love it when that happens!

My plans for the week include spending some time with my niece, nephew, sister, and mom. I plan to cook some great meals, run outside and enjoy the weather, and continue to research my schooling options. Have a wonderful week and check back for some recipes and healthy ideas.

One thought on “Weekend Love

Leave a Reply

