Valentine’s Day Love

I have spent most of my adult life in relationships searching for love. I always looked for it in someone else, wondering why they couldn’t give me the love I was looking for. I didn’t even know what I was looking for except that it was called love and I thought it would fulfill me. I was always left disappointed when my partner didn’t give me that fulfillment of love I was searching for.

Recently (in the past week or so, actually), I had a huge realization. I realized that Love is not something that I get from someone else, it is something that I give. It comes from within me. This has moved me in a powerful way. No longer will I look to others to make me happy or fulfill me in some way. Rather, I will look to myself to see what I can do to express my love. Life changing!!

Speaking of love…I wanted to surprise Matt with a romantic Valentine’s day dinner in. He had been out-of-town, and his plane got in 6:30 Friday night. I spent the day shopping for ingredients, prepping and cooking a five course dinner. When he got home, I had the candles lit and the wine poured:

009

First course was bruschetta – 8 diced Roma tomatoes, 2 T finely diced red onion, 1/2 cup shredded basil, 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese, and 1/2 cup Italian dressing.  Serve over garlic toasts. :

010

Second course was french onion soup:

011

It seemed like I put a lot of cheese on it, until it melted away. Makes me wonder how much is actually on the kind that comes crusted over in cheese. I used this recipe.

It turned out a little too sweet, I think my onions were just really sweet, and the sprinkle of sugar used to caramelize the onions wasn’t necessary. Next time I would leave out the sugar and add a little more salt.

Next course, caesar salad:

012

And for the main course, shrimp and scallop scampi:

013

I would use half the lemon of this recipe. Too lemony for me. But we were both really full at this point, and there was still dessert to come.

We took a little break and talked and laughed and had a wonderful time. We even spontaneously slow danced for a little bit 🙂

Then for dessert, chocolate peanut butter fondue:

015

It was the perfect romantic first Valentine’s day as a married couple 🙂

One thought on “Valentine’s Day Love

Leave a Reply

