Healthy Eating All Week

I find it easiest to eat healthy if I spend a few hours on the weekend or at the beginning of the week doing all my prep work for the week. After my interview this morning (fingers crossed), I ran some errands and did my grocery shopping. I spent a couple of hours chopping and prepping. I cut up carrots, celery, peppers, broccoli, pineapple and honeydew:

photo(7)

I will eat the fruits with Greek yogurt for breakfast or throw them into a smoothie with a bunch of spinach, raw oats, and chia seeds. The veggies will go into salads with some beans or chicken, I can snack on them with some hummus, and use them to cook dinners throughout the week. Salads are easy to throw together when the lettuce is cleaned and chopped:

photo 3 (14)

I grilled some chicken to use in those salads or put into a whole grain tortilla with some veggies and hummus:

photo 3 (13)

I made a huge batch of southwestern pasta salad so Matt will have an easy healthy lunch to grab all week. Fortunately, he doesn’t mind eating the same thing every day. Last week I made a big batch of Asian peanut noodles loaded with veggies and he loved it.

For this southwestern pasta, I used a box of whole wheat pasta (cooked), a can of black beans, peppers, scallions, cilantro, and tomatoes, dressed with a mixture of yogurt ranch dressing, hot sauce and chili powder. Simple, inexpensive lunches for the rest of the week!

photo 2 (15)

Since I was chopping, I went ahead and diced up a bunch for my Meatless Monday Veggie Chili. I used yellow squash, zucchini, mushrooms, peppers, jalapeno, onions, celery tops (left over from prepping my celery sticks), broccoli stems (leftover from that prep), piled into the crock pot with crushed tomatoes, veggie broth, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, cayenne, salt and pepper. A cup of quinoa added in later to get some protein and dinner is served, with plenty of leftovers for lunches or snacks throughout the week.

photo 1(15)

Today’s eats included a green smoothie for breakfast:

013

Tomatoes topped with canned salmon and leftover homemade tzatziki sauce and a side of carrots for lunch:

photo 1(16)

A small serving of cinnamon raisin granola with milk for a snack:

photo(8)

And my Meatless Monday Veggie Chili for dinner:

photo(9)

Also, just had to show you my art work I did in 7th or 8th grade and finally got around to framing 25 years later:

photo 4 (10)

I have a feeling it’s going to be a great week 🙂

Leave a Reply

